Map of Alabama


Let us go through Alabama counties map, cities map and  state map, along with information on the state.

Sponsored link

Alabama State is located in the southeast of the U.S. It is flanked by Tennessee in north and Mississippi and Georgia State in west and in south the state has Florida and Gulf of Mexico as its border.

The capital of Alabama State is Montgomery and Birmingham is the most populated city whereas Huntsville is the city with the largest total land area. Long leaf Pine and Camellia are the official tree and flower of Alabama State respectively. The Mobile city which was founded by the French colonists is the oldest city of the state.

Alabama State is also known as the ‘Yellowhammer State’. It is named after the state bird and sometimes it is also known as the “Heart of Dixie”. The state of Alabama has population of around 4.7 million making it the twenty third most populated state in United States of America. It is also said to have the 2nd largest concentration of inland waterways and is ranked as 13th in the total land area in U.S.

Earlier before 1960s Alabama State was among the backward state. This was due to the underrepresentation of African American in the economic and political system and the state depended heavily on agriculture, nevertheless now it has undergone a drastic change. It has expanded into various fields like heavy manufacture, education, technology and mineral extraction. It also has installed many military institutions which have led to increase in government jobs.

The state of Alabama has also excelled in the entertainment field and has inspired many to progress in this field. Many movies have also been made as a rhyme addressed to the lifestyle of the southern residents of Alabama State.


Counties in Alabama

The Alabama State has 67 counties. Every county has a local self government which carries out its activities inside its county border. Some of the counties are Autauga, Baldwin, Bibb, Blount, Clarke, Clay, Dallas, Elmore, Franklin, Geneva, Houston, Jefferson, Madison, Russell, Winston.


Counties in Alabama -

As of the 2010 United States Census, there are 460 incorporated cities and towns in the U.S. state of Alabama. Some of the major cities in Alabama are

Vestavia Hills
Phenix City


No comments.

Leave a Reply